Platonic Relationships Possible?

This week, there is a new variety show airing (second season) and oh my I actually missed watching this with my relatives cos some of their comments were so hilarious~

Basically it is a matchmaking variety show where they got a few shortlisted candidates and some celebrities as the matchmakers. These candidates (obviously) have what it takes to be on the show – good looking/quirky personality/ attractive career prospect etc. After a few rounds of asking questions to and forth, to get to know the opposite parties, eventually after rounds of eliminations, the “best” candidate left get to choose someone whom they like to know about and see they are willing to get together etc. Allow me to pause and cringe a little…>.<

All I can say is, it took guts to be on TV, and still try to be authentic.

This week episode featured a guy who mentioned that he wish his girlfriend-to-be can accept that he has a close girl-friend whom he wooed before (yup he said it in front of everyone on TV) and he is never going to give up the friendship that he value alot. He ended up being eliminated for that reason, thereby sparking some conversation around this topic- platonic relationship.

Do you think platonic friendship can exist?

This question popped out a number of times back when I was in school. My friends think is a straight NO because there are quite a few real examples proven that it doesn’t work! My answer has always been “YES” as long as both parties know exactly what boundaries not to be crossed and fully respected it.

Back to the show, I can understand why he got “eliminated” by the ladies because if he wanted to initiate a relationship beyond friendship before, it seems unlikely that the relationships can remain platonic? Okay but personal thoughts, I actually appreciate him being very open and honest about it right from the start ( I’d have feel respected) moreover it may be something of the past… you know how during a certain stage of life, you met someone that you thought is the right time to get together but it doesn’t happen for n number of reasons. That said, the guy in question has to, somehow prove he is reliable and trustworthy over time, who doesn’t shortchange the relationship. Make sense?

What about you? Do you believe in platonic friendships, feel free to share with me!

XoXo

Agnes

Leave a comment